Breaking Down the Impact of the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact  

November 30, 2023By: Lori Saunders

When becoming a teacher, there are often multiple certification exams you need to pass to obtain your license, and the test can vary by state which can restrict teachers who want to work for multiple states. However, recently the Council of State Governments (CSG) has partnered with the Department of Defense (DoD) and the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) to support the mobility of licensed teachers through the development of a new interstate compact for teaching. The Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact (ITMC), aims to make it easier for states to recognize each other’s teacher licenses, reducing obstacles to employment and enhancing portability.

What is the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact? 

The Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact (ITMC) is a legal agreement between U.S. states, allowing them to accept licensed teachers from other states. This is an effort to benefit teachers who will be able to have greater flexibility in moving from state to state or working remotely in a more cost-effective way. It will also assist schools that are experiencing teacher shortages. States that join the compact will give teachers the ability to obtain a participating state’s licensure without going through the extra expense of applying and taking additional tests and/or coursework.  

What states have joined the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact? 

So far, the ten states that have approved legislation are Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Kansas, Kentucky, Nevada, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Oregon, and Utah. Six additional States have applied and have pending legislation including New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Ohio, and California. The Compact states have one Commission with each state nominating one representative that participates in making up the uniform set of rules and bylaws of the Compact.  

Currently, in states that do not have the ITMC, teachers are required to apply to each state’s teacher licensing at the state’s Department of Education to seek reciprocity. Even with states that have reciprocity, each one has its own rules and laws for requirements to obtain specific teaching licenses. 

Map of the states who have joined the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact (ITMC)

What are the teacher requirements for obtaining a license? 

To apply for a license as a member of the ITMC state, a teacher must have the following:  

  • An unencumbered license (ie: not restricted, probationary, temporary, substitute, or provisional). 
  • A state-approved program for licensure such as a teacher preparation program at a college or university. 
  • Completed bachelor’s degree. 

Overall, the ITMC provides many benefits for teachers and schools facing shortages. For more information and updates, check out the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact national website: 

Related Articles